Skip to Content Skip to Navigation
Marshall University Foundation Logo

Grant and Kheng McGuire recently established the Nell Bailey Endowment for the Society of Yeager Scholars. Kheng McGuire has served on the Yeager Board of Directors since 2017 and Grant McGuire says the Bailey family meant a lot to them.

“We were blessed to have friends like Nell and her mother, Pearl, when we first moved to Huntington,” said Grant McGuire. “Nell loved the students at Marshall University and was excited about the Yeager Scholars program, which challenged these scholars and developed their potential.”

Dr. Nell C. Bailey, who passed away in December of 2018, was the first woman to be appointed vice president at Marshall University when she was named vice president and dean of student affairs in 1984. After serving in that position for eight years, Bailey returned to teaching in 1992 and worked in conjunction with the university’s president as a special assistant. She also served as the dean for the Center for Adult and Extended Education.

Bailey received her bachelor’s degree in education from the former Salem College in 1956 and went on to earn her master’s degree in education from Kent State University. She then received her doctorate from Indiana University. She held administrative and teaching positions at Salem College, Kent State University, Indiana University, Bethany College and Illinois State University prior to serving at Marshall. Honors College Dean Dr. Nicki LoCascio says Nell Bailey was an important part of the lives of the students she helped.

“I had the privilege of knowing Nell Bailey and saw firsthand her tireless mentoring and care for students at Marshall University. The McGuires’ generous gift honors a remarkable woman, and I am grateful for their support,” LoCascio said.

Endowments established for the Society of Yeager Scholars provide resources such as tuition, room and board, books, study abroad opportunities and more for students who represent the program.

Those who wish to contribute to the Nell Bailey Endowment for the Society of Yeager Scholars may do so by mailing a check to the Marshall University Foundation Inc., 519 John Marshall Dr., Huntington, WV 25703, with the scholarship name in the memo line, or by visiting and inserting the scholarship name in the comment box.

For more information about the Society of Yeager Scholars, please contact Cara Bailey, coordinator of the Yeager program, by  e-mail at

Gayle A. Brazeau, Ph.D, dean of the Marshall University School of Pharmacy, and Daniel Brazeau, Ph.D., associate professor at the school, have endowed the Fairfield Community Pharmacy Scholarship.

“We would like to see local students of all diversity succeed and be encouraged to pursue their dream of an education, most especially those who have a passion for the pharmacy profession,” said Gayle Brazeau.

The scholarship recipient will be a full-time, incoming freshman, undergraduate student who is majoring in biology or chemistry in the College of Science with a pre-pharmacy emphasis and plans to matriculate into the School of Pharmacy. The student must also demonstrate need per the standards of the Office of Student Financial Assistance. First preference will be given to a Huntington High School graduate, second to any resident of Cabell County and third to any West Virginia resident.

Students interested in this scholarship can inquire and apply by e-mailing Each year, a new recipient will be selected and awarded $500 a year during their freshman and sophomore undergraduate years and their first (P1) and second (P2) pharmacy school years.

“We were inspired to do this because of three remarkable women in Huntington who have blessed our lives,” said Gayle Brazeau. “Sandra Clements, Mary Hodges and Doris Andrews have shown us the importance of caring and giving back to the Huntington Community and the Marshall family.”

The School of Pharmacy is located in Stephen J. Kopp Hall at 1538 Charleston Avenue and a proud participant in Huntington’s Fairfield Community.

To learn more about establishing a scholarship or to make a gift by phone, please contact the Marshall University Foundation at 304-696-6264. To make a gift online, please visit